Illinois State Motorcycle Laws


Accept Motorcycle Endorsement From Other States

Accept RiderEd Completion Card From Other States

Daytime Use of Headlight
Required by state law;
Illinois Vehicle Code, Sec. 12-1201(a)
Modulating headlight permitted per

Eye Protection
Required by law unless equipped with windscreen;

Handlebar Height
Handgrips below head height;

Helmet Speakers
For Communication Only; Illinois Vehicle Code, Sec. 11-1403.3

Lane Splitting
Not authorized;

Maximum Sound Level
Maximum allowable A-weighted sound levels based on measurements taken at a distance of 50 feet.
80-82dBA at less than 35mph; 86dBA at more than 35mph.
Illinois Enviornmental Protection Regulations, Sec. 902-122

Mirror Left(L) Right(R)
One required by law;

Motorcycles operating two abreast in same lane
Not referenced in Administrative Code or Statutes

Muffler required. Not modified to amplify or increase noise above that emitted by muffler originally installed.
Illinois Vehicle Code, Sec. 12-602

Passenger Age Restriction

Passenger Footrest
Required if carrying a passenger;

Passenger Seat
Required if carrying a passenger;

Periodic Safety Inspection

Radar Detector
No Restriction

Rider-Education Waiver
Skill & Knowledge Test

Safety Helmet
Not Required

State Funded Rider Ed
Available for all eligible applicants-required under 18

State Insurance Requirements
Compulsory Liability (Minimum Limits)(20/40/15)

Traffic Actuated Signals

When a an automated system does not recognize a motorcycle at a red light, the motorcycle may proceed with caution after 120 seconds.  This provision does not include signals within municipalities of over 2,000,000 people.

625 ILCS 5/11-306.

Turn Signals
Not Required
If you have any updates to this list please feel free to leave it in the comments. I will try to keep this current each week and add other states as I go. If I have not added your state yet let me know in the comments and I will do my best to add it quickly.

No Comments

Leave A Reply